Ovo vegetarianism

Ovo vegetarianism is a type of vegetarianism that allows for the consumption of eggs and not dairy products, in contrast with lacto vegetarianism. Those who practice ovo vegetarianism are called ovo-vegetarians or “eggetarians”. “Ovo” comes from the Latin word for egg.

Ethical motivations for off-farm products are based on the production of milk. Concerns include the practice of keeping a cow poisonous in order to be lactate and the slaughter of unwanted male calves. Other concerns include the standard practice of separating the mother of her calf and denying the calf’s natural source of milk. This contrasts with the industrial practices surrounding egg-laying hens, which produce eggs for human consumption without being fertilized. Ovo-vegetarians often prefer free-range eggs, that is, those produced by uncaged hens. Many ovo-vegetarians refuse to eat fertilized eggs, with balut being an extreme example where the egg has developed. Some vegetarians are lactose intolerant, and are therefore unwilling to consume milk or other dairy products.

Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs from the practice of culling Considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide. One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Many vegans do not eat eggs because of chick culling. In battery cage egg production, unwanted male chicks are culled or discarded at birth during the process of securing a further generation of egg-laying hens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright foroactivo.eu 2020
Shale theme by Siteturner