An ovo-lacto vegetarian or lacto-ovo vegetarian is a vegetarian who does not eat meat, but does eat some animal products such as eggs and dairy. Unlike pescatarians, they do not consume fish or other seafood. A typical ovo-lacto vegetarian diet can include fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds, herbs, roots, fungi, milk, cheese, yogurt, kefir, and eggs.
The terminology stems from the Latin meaning “milk” (as in ‘lactation’), meaning “egg”, and the English term vegetarian, so as giving the definition of a vegetarian diet containing milk and eggs.
In the Western world, ovo-lacto vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian an ovo-lacto vegetarian is assumed. Ovo-lacto vegetarians are often well-catered to restaurants and shops, especially in some parts of Europe and metropolitan cities in North America.
Jainism prohibits the harm to anything with a soul or potential life. Certain eggs and certain kinds of vegetables, but dairy products are permitted. Jains are therefore lacto vegetarians, not ovo-lacto vegetarians. In Hinduism, many individuals were raised as ovo-lacto vegetarians or lacto vegetarians. The Bible Christian Church was a Christian vegetarian sect founded by William Cowherd in 1809. Cowherd was one of the philosophical forerunners of the Vegetarian Society founded in 1847. The Bible Christian Church promoted the use of eggs, dairy and honey the promised land flowing with milk and honey “(Exodus 3: 8). Many Seventh-day Adventist followers are lacto-ovo vegetarians. For over 130 years,
In India, eggs are not universally considered vegetarian; those who do practice ovo-vegetarianism are often described as “eggetarians”. To accommodate this, products containing eggs are specially marked to differentiate from other vegetarian food products. Some manufacturers especially advise that their products contain eggs and other products to avoid ovo-vegetarianism.